“Urgent Telegrams to an Emergent Love”: A Sequence of Short Poems by Radhia Chehaibi (Translated by Ali Znaidi)

Picture of Radhia Chehaibi borrowed off http://www.freearabi.com

Picture of Radhia Chehaibi borrowed off http://www.freearabi.com

“Urgent Telegrams to an Emergent Love”: A Sequence of Short Poems by Radhia Chehaibi (Translated by Ali Znaidi)

This is the original poem in Arabic. It is taken from the online magazine freearabi.com. “Urgent Telegrams to an Emergent Love” is, in fact, a sequence of short poems. You can also read it here.

برقيات عاجلة لحب طارئ ~ للشاعرة المتألقة راضية الشهايبي
المصدر: مجلة العربي الحر الإلكترونية

برقيات عاجلة لحب طارئ

بوح

باسمك مجرى دمي
جارفا يهتف لك بمداخلي
باسمك مرساه حين تتقد
على مشارف اناملك…يدي

***
تكامل

بعينيك الاحزان جميعا
وفي عيني الدموع التي تلزم

***
احتياج

اتدري كم يلزمني
لاحتمال غربتي
عن شهقتك القصوى
عين اشتهاء
ويد ارتجاف
وشفاه من لهيب

***
التزام

لعينيك قرارات
تنثرها بكياني فالتزم
وارسل روحي تبايعك
واشيد من قبلي عرشا
تعتليه…على شفتي

***
سُكر

هو الذي افرط
في شرب ايحاءات عينيها
لن يفلت من سكر التاويل

***
اعتذار

ليس لك ما به عن غياب
ما قبل اللقاء تكفر
سوى ذرف اشواق
على جسد اعياه الترقب

***
منتهى

أغارعليك من نفسي
فعدني…
إلاَّ معي تخونني

***
تفرد

كأني ما كنت انثى
كأن يديك ما احتفت بغيري
كأن انيني ما انتشى يوما
بغير تفجر نبعك في أديمي

***
تنبيه

ينتشر صخب كبريائه
يتفجر في صمت على جسدي
يستفز نبضي
يبشرني بالنبض البديل الخافق المتواري
خلف سكون رغبتي

Here you are the translation for this sequence!

Urgent Telegrams to an Emergent Love

Revelation

In your name my blood stream

vehemently shouts my innermost to you.

In your name its anchorage when my hand

burns at the outskirts of your fingertips.

***

Complementarity

In your eyes all sorrows.

In my eyes the required tears.

***

Need

Do you know how much do I need

to endure my alienation from your

utmost sobs:

A desiring eye,

a trembling hand,

& blazing lips.

***

Engagement

Your eyes have decisions.

You sprinkle them on my being. So I engage,

& I send my soul acknowledging you as a sovereign.

And I build a throne out of my heart.

You ascend it… on my lips.

***

Drunkenness

He who drank in the suggestiveness

of her eyes to excess,

will not escape from the intoxication of interpretation.

***

Apology

You have nothing by which to expiate

the absence from the pre-date

except shedding yearnings

on a body worn out by waiting.

***

A Furthest Point

I’m jealous about you from myself.

So promise not to betray me

only with me!

***

Uniqueness

As if I hadn’t been a female.

As if your hands had never celebrated anyone but me.

As if my whine had never been intoxicated

except with the explosion of your wellspring in my dusty skin.

***

Warning

The fury of his arrogance spreads

and it silently explodes in my body.

It provokes my pulses.

It brings to me the good news of the alternative palpitating

pulse that is hidden behind the inertia of my desire.

Radhia Chehaibi’s Bio:

Radhia Chehaibi is a Tunisian poet. She was born on May 29, 1970. Her poetry is characterised by strong imagery and language. She is also known for writing shorter poems or flash poetry. She authored poetry collections, including What Leaked from My Silence, Travel Recitations, and The Digital Path of the Soul. She was also anthologised in some Arabic and translated anthologies.

About aliznaidi

Ali Znaidi lives in Redeyef, Tunisia. He graduated with a BA in Anglo-American Studies in 2002. He teaches English at Tunisian public secondary schools. He writes poetry and has an interest in literature, languages, and literary translations. His work has appeared here and there and is scheduled to appear elsewhere . At moments of revelation, he smokes and drinks green tea with mint while pondering.
This entry was posted in Texts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

